Five Minute Friday:Loud

I take part in the Five Minute Friday Challenge hosted by The Gypsy Mama. For this Challenge we:

  1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
  2. Link back to The Gypsy Mama’s blog . (And don’t forget to invite others to join in the challenge – will you join me?)
  3. Visit the other person who linked up before you and encourage them.

This week’s prompt is: Loud

At times my for tolerance for loud is low:

  • When it is 11pm and I am trying to sleep. I curse the noisemakers in the apartment above me.
  • When I am tired and the shopping centres are abuzz with sound. Christmas shopping seems to be the worst time – and shopping for back to school gear.
  • Trying to raise my voice against the resounding clash of students’ voices. At times like these I wish for a booming voice that can echo through the room.

The are times though, when loud does not bother me:

  • When a classroom of children are eagerly participating in a learning activity.
  • Listening to the sound of my children learning to play their instrument.
  • Hearing the sound of invigorating music while I do my household chores.

What is your tolerance for loud?

About Colline Kook-Chun

I am an educator, blogger, wife and mother. I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, crafting, photography, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Five Minute Friday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Five Minute Friday:Loud

  1. newsferret says:

    Well, well, I can’t do it because since I received my hearing aids EVERYTHING IS LOUD!!

    Like

  2. diggingher says:

    I have had struggles with loud in the workplace. Sometimes I find it is just too much sensory input for my mind to handle.

    Like

  3. Kim says:

    Isn’t it amazing how the same level of loud can make us feel so different? Eager children are just as loud as distracted children, but the “loud” feels so much better!!

    Like

  4. Mike says:

    I’m not good with loud, though if I am making the noise it is different! It is also easier to be included in the loudness rather than being a stranger to it. Silence can have a ‘loudness’ all of it’s own sometimes too.

    Like

  5. niasunset says:

    Loud…. ah! In my apartment there is too much noise… and also in this city too… I think I don’t have tolerance anymore… Just I want to be in silent places… Last summer in Devizes, UK, I was surprised so much… It was so beautiful to sleep without any voice and sound and also to wake up in silence except the birds… It was so good for me… Thank you dear Colline, it was interesting posst again… Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

    Like

  6. Christine says:

    I usually have solutions for exterior volumes but it’s the voices in my head that are loud… calgon doesn’t always take it away, wine doesn’t always drown them out, sleep… well I can’t sleep because of it. Meditation and music might do the trick.

    Like

  7. scrapydo says:

    Good one. I also remember when a class full of students are preparing for a speech or something it is like music in your ears. But when they are just making a noise it is very irritating

    Like

  8. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    To me noises always seem the loudest when I just want to relax. :D

    Like

  9. fgassette says:

    I enjoy your blog very much, you have a way of making me smile. I am passing the Just kidding award on to you. You can pick it up here: http://wp.me/p23TG1-tZ

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  10. Leanne Cole says:

    What a great idea. I am not sure I could do this, but love reading what you like and don’t like.

    Like

  11. Maggie L R says:

    What a fun idea.. I am not sure I would be brave enough to post an unedited post.. .

    Like

  12. jakesprinter says:

    I have a cure for it another loud from my earpiece listening music ,Nice post Colline :)

    Like

  13. Makes sense that the tolerance goes up depending on the context. That last one is great for my Saturday mornings. One of my favorite chores is cleaning the bathrooms, not because of the task itself, but because it’s one of the rare times when I can turn up the music LOUD! (My husband and sons don’t like loud music like I do.)

    Like

  14. Leslie says:

    I have a low tolerance for loud, especially in the mornings.
    Thank you for visiting and your kind words.

    Like

Share what you think

