Jesus, the Light

I take part in the Five Minute Friday Challenge hosted by The Gypsy Mama. For this challenge, participants write for 5 minutes with no editing, no over thinking, and no backtracking. This week’s prompt is: Light

Jesus, the Light

As Christians we are told that “Jesus is the way, the truth and the light”.

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglican Church http://www.stjohnsashfield.org.au, Ashfield, New South Wales. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Thinking on today, a day on which we remember the crucifixion of Jesus, it is difficult to see Him as representing the light. When we think of the crucifixion we think of pain, sorrow, disappointment and the snuffing of a light in the life of Jesus the man. We think of betrayal in the form of Judas; and of a mother’s grief in the tears of Mary. We think of the mockery of a belief in the taunts of the soldiers; and of those who wash their hands of the problems of others.

But when we remember the day of the crucifixion, we know that soon we will remember the resurrection of Jesus, of the light that He represents. The resurrection shows us that our belief in God, our belief in Jesus, can shine forth from us – just as the light shone forth from Jesus with the resurrection. Our belief in the light of Jesus can guide us through the darkness of the uncertainty in our lives, and our ignorance of God.

So let us think today not only on the darkness of the crucifixion, but also on the knowledge and belief that Jesus is our guiding light in the lives that we are living.

In what way is Jesus your light?

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2012

About Colline

I am an educator, blogger, wife and mother. I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, crafting, photography, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Five Minute Friday, Religion & Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jesus, the Light

  1. dogdaz says:

    As I am not Christian, so I will answer your question from my perspective. As far as I can see, those that follow his teachings understand the basic rules that everyone, regardless of faith, should live by. Be nice, play nice, and take care of each other. I wish that more people followed the light of great leaders and filled their lives with the light of service and caring. Wishing you a wonderful holiday – DogDaz

    Like

    • Colline says:

      Thank you for your imput dogdaz – this is basically the bare bones of Jesus’ teachings. This basic teaching is often lost in rituals and arguements over petty little details (hence all the little splits that have occured in the Christian church).

      Like

  2. MindMindful says:

    Because your blog is great, I’m giving you the Tell Me About Yourself Award – yea you! http://wp.me/p1zocx-1ek Follow this link to capture the badge for display, & to find the ‘rules’

    Like

  3. diggingher says:

    As my Saviour, teacher, and guide through life Jesus is my everything. I have come to learn and continue to learn that He is everything and without His saving Grace I am nothing. I put my hope in Him because it is in him that I can stand on solid ground instead of sinking sand.
    It is my prayer this Easter season that His Light would shine forth for the entire world to see so that ALL may know Him and be saved.

    Like

    • Colline says:

      Many in our world certainly need to see the light of his message and what following His tenants can bring to their lives (I am thinking of those who set out to hurt others, and who work against all that is humane). I would add that not only do they realise this, but that they apply it to their lives.
      May God bless you this Easter season.

      Like

  4. I love and embrace the words of dogdaz: be nice, play nice, take care of each other. All religions appear to follow these basic tenets. I embrace all religions and organizations that follow these basic humanitarian ideologies.

    Today, on Good Friday, I honour and remember those who embrace the ‘golden rules’ and take gentle care of everyone who crosses their path and lead initiative towards change for the sake of humanity.

    Happy Easter…Happy Humanity to all

    Like

  5. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Very nicely written. :)
    I wish you and your family all a very Happy Easter.

    Like

  6. George Weaver says:

    What a lovely post, Colline. Happy Easter!

    Like

  7. niasunset says:

    I am not a Christian but I also don’t feel that I am in another religion too. But Jesus is great and to be a nice one and to be nice to others and to live in beauties, kindness and integrity, should be the best way… As Jesus says too… The light will be in our soul if we can see or realize these important and taught points… Happy Easter dear Colline, Thank you, with my love, nia

    Like

    • Colline says:

      I agree with you Nia – he taught the basics of human kindness which many religions do teach. Thank you for your comment Nia, even though you are not Christian.

      Like

  8. Lovely post Colline. As Christians, we are called to be light, or light-bearers in our world. Too often self-righteousness and superiority dim our light and nearly blow it out. We are not to be the brightest halogen spotlight, simply a warm, gentle, welcoming, safe glow of comfort, salvation, and rescue. That’s who He is to me. Bless you x

    Like

  9. Arwen says:

    Yeah God, I say.

    Like

Share what you think

