Weekly Photo Challenge: Close

As you enter the Pretoria Zoo in South Africa, you are drawn to the bed of water that is home to a large group of Flamingoes. Their pink-coloured bodies cluster together as they feed, drink or stand one-legged in the sun.

Flamingoes at the Pretoria Zoo. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2012

Watching the birds, one can see their sense of community as they stand close together whether they are in the wading pool, or standing on the ground.

Flamingoes in the wading pool. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2012

They may be standing close together, but each bird is looking to feed itself within their cluster.

Flamingoes looking for tasty morsels to eat. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2012

We spent quite a bit of time at the zoo looking at this flock of birds. When thinking of the Pretoria zoo, this is the scene that springs to my mind. I find their plumage beautiful and their stance unusual.

Have you visited a zoo and seen Flamingoes?

(Join us each week for the Photo Challenge posted at The Daily Post at WordPress.com. This week’s prompt is: Close)

About Colline Kook-Chun

I am an educator, blogger, wife and mother. I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, crafting, photography, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Countries, My Photo Albums, South Africa, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Close

  1. cocomino says:

    They are very nice color and good challenge for this week. My children and I like such animals. :)

    Like

  2. jmgoyder says:

    They are incredible – I am not sure if we have flamingos in Australia!

    Like

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Flamingoes are amazing. I like the way they stand on one leg. Nice photos :)

    Like

  4. Christine says:

    Did you know that there are more plastic flamingos than there are real ones? Just thought I’d throw that in… I love the pictures. Is there a “Love” button?

    Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Close « Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  6. niasunset says:

    How beautiful they are… I have visited a few months ago but in here they didn’t seem so nice as yours… maybe because of the weather conditions… Thank you dear Colline, love, nia

    Like

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Close « Jinan Daily Photo

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    We have 2 zoos in Chicagoland, Colline. THe larger one is in the suburbs and it is huge. The 2nd one, Lincoln Park Zoo, is in the city and is the oldest “free admission” zoo in the country. Both have flocks of flamingoes. It is somewhat of an event when the Lincoln Park flamingoes are herded and walked from their winter quarters to their summer wading pool. They really are quite beautiful and your photos of them are well-shot.

    Like

  9. I love that pool!

    Like

  10. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    They are gorgeous the Flamingos you just can’t help but love their colour, they certainly do stand out. Yes we have Flamingos is some of our zoo’s and I have been lucky enough to see them, just magnificent.

    Like

  11. Leanne Cole says:

    I have never seen them, but your image certainly fits the challenge.

    Like

  12. aFrankAngle says:

    Now that’s more pink flamingos than I’ve ever seen in a lawn.

    Like

  13. Beautiful post Colline. I felt like I was there myself as I looked at the exciting images. Flamingoes are stunning with grace like a “ballerina.” I’ve seen a few at sea world but not this many. Have a great day my friend. Thanks.

    Like

  14. I love flamingos! You can also find them in the Alentejo region in Portugal, near Alcácer do Sal. I haven’t been there yet.

    http://africatoalgarve.blogspot.pt/2012/05/scenes-from-alcacer-on-azulejo-1.html

    Like

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Close | Here & Abroad

  16. eof737 says:

    I love the colors of those flamingos and they are so fascinating to watch. ;-)

    Like

  17. bluebee says:

    I have seen them in their thousands on Lake Nakuru in Kenya – I always think of ‘Alice in Wonderland’ when I see them, though :)

    Like

  18. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create « Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  19. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create « Beijing City Photo 2

  20. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create | Here & Abroad

  21. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create | No Fixed Plans

  22. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create 2 « Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  23. I enjoy the way you take a subject that is so well fitted tot he theme, and integrate your photos with your back story.

    Like

    • Colline says:

      Thank you – I know as I view other posts based on the weekly challenge, I always have questions in my mind on the photo. When I create my own post, I therefore try tp answer any questions a viewer may have.

      Like

  24. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « Jinan Daily Photo

Share what you think

