Relaxing to Music

This week Jake’s prompt includes the word “relax”. The first thing that popped into my head was a song I used to hear on the radio often: Relax by Frankie Goes To Hollywood.

The song is full of energy and is the antithesis of what relaxing music should be. Mika’s song Relax, Take It Easy is a little slower – but still encourages your feet to do a little tap dance.

To truly relax, I lie on my bed (or sofa) and imagine myself lying on the beach of a gently rolling sea. While doing so, I listen to music that calms me and does not increase my heartbeat. For me, the best music to do this with is Classical music. My favourite compositions are those by Beethoven:

What I love most about music is that you can find something to suit your mood and your needs – whether you want to relax, or create a little energy boost.

What music do you listen to in order to relax?

(This post was inspired by Jake’s Sunday Post prompt)

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

About Colline

I am an educator, blogger, wife and mother. I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, crafting, photography, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Music, Sunday Post and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Relaxing to Music

  1. Amy says:

    Relaxing to music, works for me. Thank you for the links! Beethoven is my favorite, I love the the Moonlight Sonata.

    Like

  2. Indira says:

    Music is very much relaxing. Good take on he prompt and different.

    Like

  3. Like you said. It all depends on my mood. I like rock, country, classical, inspirational and more.

    Like

  4. Relax reminds me of being a young teen – everyone wore Relax T-Shirts. Great post.

    Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    This morning Eunice (Living and Lovin) shared a lovely toe tapping piece of music to celebrate the 1st day of Spring http://nutsfortreasure.wordpress.com/2014/03/20/happy/ and yesterday Jo Bryant shared 2 superb young Croatian cellists whose name escapes me but they were amazing. Must be my week for music :)

    Like

  6. Sonel says:

    Music is very relaxing and soothing Colline. Great post. :D

    Like

  7. Paula says:

    Excellent choices Colline! I needed some Beethoven :)

    Like

  8. Always one of my favorite things to do when relaxing…listening to music! And I listen to all types but mostly I meditate while listening to it! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    3 fantastic choices, Colline. For me, I find that light jazz is the perfect tranquilizer. It neither makes me want to move about nor puts me to sleep but I can listen to it for hours.

    Like

  10. jakesprinter says:

    I missed this one Colline …Busy days my friend … Thanks for sharing this wonderful post :)

    Like

  11. Pingback: Ultimate Place to Relax – Spokane | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Share what you think

