Unused Playground

Slowly the snow and ice are melting where I live. We have a day  of temperatures hovering around zero then it drops again – which leads to more ice. The slippery conditions have led to the school playground being closed for many weeks – no more sliding and playing in the playground until the ice has melted and the water has dried up.

Unused Playground. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

Unused Playground. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

I took this photo during week and posted it on Instagram (yes, I joined a few days ago). I like how it looks like a photo from another time.

Are you on Instagram?

(This photo was inspired by Paula’s Black and White Sunday)

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

About Colline

I am an educator, blogger, wife and mother. I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, crafting, photography, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in My Photo Albums and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Unused Playground

  1. Sad. The kids need to get out and run!
    I like the look of that photo and yes it looks like something from my childhood – another time. ;-)
    I do have an Instagram account but haven’t used it in forever.

    Like

  2. Paula says:

    I have a feeling it will not stay unused for much longer. Colline, I really like the shot and feeling you’ve created. Thank you very much for this contribution :) What can you tell me about instagram?

    Like

    • Colline says:

      We are hoping that we are able to use it soon. It is sad to look out on an empty playground without the voices of children to make it a happy place.
      I decided to give Instagram a try as I like some of the effects you can create with photos you take with a mobile device. I will use it a little more to see whether I like it.

      Like

      • Paula says:

        Oh, that’s what it is for :) I use my dslr 99,9% of the time so it is not for me. Hey, I am still waiting for the story you promised (based on my monk in the alley pic :D)

        Like

        • Colline says:

          I do not have a camera such as yours :(
          Thanks for the reminder Paula. I have now done what I should have when I saw the photo – created a draft post ready for when I can work on it :)

          Like

  3. Amy says:

    This is a cool B&W image, Colline! I also downloaded the Instagram on my iPhone, for some reason it does not read my photos…

    Like

  4. phylor says:

    My phone isn’t very smart! Which is too bad as my camera isn’t working either. The phone will take pictures, but when I tried to download, it wanted up upload all my photos, lol.
    I like the retro look of the playground! I hope Spring arrives soon so it won’t feel so alone. Thanks for sharing. I’m looking forward to more Instagram pix!

    Like

  5. Y. Prior says:

    cool tone – and it does look like it is from another time – :)

    Like

  6. Madhu says:

    Beautifully composed Colline, the dried branches add to its desolate feel.
    No I am not on Instagram…yet.

    Like

  7. poppytump says:

    Oh it does look sad all deserted like that :-( Colline . Wishing more of a thaw for you very soon .
    No Instagram here either …

    Like

  8. jakesprinter says:

    Kids gonna missed it …Beautiful image Colline :)

    Like

  9. jbcamera says:

    It seems your weather is just like ours at the moment. We are supposed to warm up on Thursday. Hope you do too. :-)

    Like

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    I just joined Instagram a few days ago. I guess I’ll have to start taking more pictures now. :)

    Like

  11. B&W photo – interesting. This winter has been brutal, hasn’t it? It seems to want to hang on indefinitely. Usually folks are talking about the approaching spring. Not this year. It is as if we have all accepted that an indefinite winter is inevitable.

    It would be great if the children could get out to those climbers soon. They must miss them.

    Like

  12. enjoy says:

    Yes, dismal is captured very well. Hurry up warmth!

    Like

  13. Sonel says:

    This is one stunning shot Colline and love the Black and White! To answer your question … no, I am not on Instagram because I don’t use my phone that often. Great post. :D

    Like

  14. TBM says:

    I never thought of that. I grew up in a warm climate and this never happened. Poor kids

    Like

    • Colline says:

      This winter has been hard. It began with an ice storm, it had many below minus 20 days, and the ice is taking a long time to melt. When they can play in the playground again, happiness will abound.

      Like

  15. Mélanie says:

    mine is virtual and it’s used every day… :) here’s a real one in my village:

    http://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/aire-de-jeux-playground/

    Like

  16. Suzanne says:

    I’ve never seen a playground covered in snow either. Brrrr and poor kids being trapped inside all the time. Great photo though.

    Like

    • Colline says:

      Covered in snow is okay – they still go out and play. The problem this year has been the ice – when it is slippery we cannot take them out as they may fall and injure themselves.

      Like

Share what you think

