Mighty Dad

He lifts his son high up onto his shoulders, thrilling in the weight of the boy’s small body. “I can see everywhere. You have made me tall Dad!” Simple words and yet they bring so much pleasure. He never expected fatherhood to be this: a moment in his life where he became a hero, a mighty dad who is able to achieve anything. He could not get used to his son looking at him with eyes filled with adoration and the knowledge that all which is asked could be done. Yes, he had always wanted children. Maybe because it was expected of him: men started a career, married, bought a house, had children, retired, and enjoyed grandchildren. Parenthood, however, became much more than was advertised. He was looked at with trusting eyes when encouraging his son to take his first steps; he was seen to be a hero when fixing a favourite toy; he was lovingly cuddled while watching the movie of the month. “Let’s go Dad. We need to get to the park quickly so that we can practise our soccer. Aaron and his dad will never beat us!” And the best thing of all? He has the excuse to play like a child again.

5-minute-friday-1Have you ever felt like a mighty Dad?

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

(This post was inspired by the Five Minute Friday prompt: Mighty)

 

About Colline

I am an educator, blogger, wife and mother. I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, crafting, photography, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Five Minute Friday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Mighty Dad

  1. Mrs. Sexy says:

    A very touching piece. I loved the insight into Dadhood. Visiting from 5MF today!

  2. Imelda says:

    That was sweet and heartwarming, Colline. :-)

  3. even if dads are the big and burly men that they are, inside them lurk the little boys that desire to be free… its God’s amazing way to humble them. heartwarming, Colline :) — April

    • Colline says:

      I always enjoy watching dads with their children – especially the big and burly ones as their physical might is such a contrast to the gentleness they exhibit with their sons and daughters.

  4. I love the concept of the mightiness of parenthood. Beautiful. Thanks for sharing on 5MF.

    • Colline says:

      Thank you. Young children often see the adults in their life as being mighty: mom, dad, teachers, grandparents. It is a lovely thing to experience.

  5. Sonel says:

    Just beautiful Colline! :D

  6. restlessjo says:

    Reminds me so much of Island Traveller, Colline. I haven’t seen one of his posts lately so I’ll have to go and track him down. Very heartwarming :)

  7. frizztext says:

    dear Colline, thank you for your little post about DAD. I often talked with people who had no Dad (after the war in Germany). I noticed they missed the feeling of support and solidarity given by a “mighty” dad…

    • Colline says:

      Dads play an important role in a child’s life and I am always thankful that I had one of my own when growing up.

      • I completely agree, Colline. I too am thankful to have had a father while growing up. I wonder if men know how valuable and important their role is to their daughters. My father could impart only the perspective that men have as a man and a father. This differed from the perspective of my mother’s and was invaluable in shaping my understanding of the world around me as I grew up. My father’s positive regard and caring was a comfort in a chaotic and often hostile world.

  8. Love this piece, Colleen. It makes me think of my son and his little boy. :)

  9. scrapydo says:

    When my son was born about 18 years after my husband’s second son he(my husband) told me over and over again he never knew that having a son was so wonderful. He never had the opportunity to be part of his first two sons parenting. With me he could be the father that he was- a very caring and dedicated one.

Share what you think

