A Mauritian Street Scene

When we were in Mauritius, we came across a street scene I could not resist capturing. The men were sitting outside chatting, passing the time of day.

A Mauritian Street Scene. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

A Mauritian Street Scene. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

The group of friends was not what attracted my attention though. What I admired was the Dodo that had been painted on the wall.

The Mauritian Dodo. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

The Mauritian Dodo. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

A beautiful dedication to a bird that has long been extinct.

Do you often see painted dedications on walls?

(This post has been inspired by the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge)

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

About Colline

I am an educator, blogger, wife and mother. I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, crafting, photography, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Mauritius, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Mauritian Street Scene

  1. dadirri7 says:

    I love your photo of the scene Colline, so particular to Mauritius with the dodo, but the similar groups of men chatting can be found all over the world!

  2. Pingback: Daily post weekly photo challenge – Street life | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | MythRider

  4. Love the Dodo painting, Colline. What a strange looking bird. :)

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Street Life Winter 1982 | What's (in) the picture?

  6. colonialist says:

    You do something to me … dodo that voodoo that you do so so well.
    I wish they could un-extinct those birds.

  7. poppytump says:

    Can’t ever see a Dodo without remembering the struggle I had with a school project … I exhausted all the encylopedias at the time . Much better to see it like this Colline :-)

  8. Sonel says:

    Now that is totally adorable and so cool! Great shot Colline! :D

  9. Paula says:

    No, I don’t remember the last time I saw a beautiful dedication painted on a wall. I like this one Colline :) When were you there?

  10. Jo Bryant says:

    what a great capture…love the wall art so much

    • Colline says:

      Beautiful, isn’t it? I love the way the Mauritians have adopted the bird as their mascot and created so many artistic varieties of the bird.

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Life is great

  12. Pingback: Streetlife for a mere observer? | Words 'n Pics...

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    I do enjoy wall art, Colline. We’ve few places scattered around the city that have been donated for street art. Some are painted and others tiled. Either way, they’re welcome in my book. They add to to the city’s fabric.

Share what you think

