Mauritian Billboards

I am used to the sight of billboards along the highways that advertise a range of products. In Mauritius, however, there are no highways as are seen in large countries. Instead billboards are placed in most unusual settings. On top of walls that separate neighbouring houses:

 © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

Mauritian Billboards (1). © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

In the space between the road and a house:

 © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

Mauritian Billboards (2). © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

On the side of 3 storey buildings:

 © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

Mauritian Billboards (3). © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

On the roof of a home:

 © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

Mauritian Billboards (4). © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

Or the roof of an abandoned building:

 © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

Mauritian Billboards (5). © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

On the roof of a store:

 © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

Mauritian Billboards (6). © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

And, of course, at the entrance into the city:

 © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

Mauritian Billboards (7). © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

The small island of Mauritius has made efficient use of its space in order to advertise its products. As a visitor, I found it interesting and innovative.

Have you seen innovative ways of placing billboards?

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

(This post was inspired by Jake’s prompt: billboard)

About Colline

I am an educator, blogger, wife and mother. I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, crafting, photography, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Mauritius, Sunday Post and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Mauritian Billboards

  1. Y. Prior says:

    what a fun slideshow of billboards – loved the variety – but my favorite one was the first one – the Tulip” – which I assume is what we would call “Spam” – ?

    but also, it is not quote a billboard – but I love that little bitty green sign in the last photo that said “The South” – would;t it be cool if that always that easy to take a trip – just go that way – which way well just go to “the south” ha ha –
    have a nice day. :)

  2. Sonel says:

    Great shots Colline and it almost looks the same here when you drive in to our little town. I must say I am not crazy about all the billboards but I guess they have to make money. :)

    • Colline says:

      I am curious as to whether advertising on them does make any impact; and whether people do pay any attention to them.

      • Sonel says:

        I don’t care for it at all in our little town Colline because it breaks up nature as far as I am concerned. In the big cities it doesn’t really look bad because of all the businesses there and that’s where you’d expect it but not in a place that’s actually supposed to be nature conservation, but well, money talks hey? I know I don’t pay any attention to them. :D

  3. ladysighs says:

    The one that advertises Land for Sale…….I wonder if there is any land left there to use? :)
    Very interesting places for ads.

  4. TBM says:

    I see them like this in London as well. Especially on the side of buildings. I never drive on the highways, but I’m assuming they’re there as well.

  5. Paula says:

    They are everywhere. Personally I don’t like billboards or any advertisements for that matter :)

  6. Love how I can always count on you Colline to take me with you on your trips back home! These are the pics I love. The ones where you experience the interesting aspects, rather than merely the touristy ones! Interesting shots or billboards. Interesting locales for them, too.

    The most interesting arrangement of billboards I’ve seen lately have been along the highway travelling up north. Many have taken to displaying their businesses by parking the trailer portion of a tractor-trailer in a farmer’s field with their advert on the side, displayed so that drivers along the highway can view it. One business for a car dealership has done this in a number of locations along the highway and then has continued with this concept in town as well in well-appointed parking lot locations.

    It does catch my eye and is novel in it’s appearance, so it’s quite noticeable.

    • Colline says:

      These travelling billboards are certainly more interesting Darlene. I like the idea too that when the farmer needs them out of the way, they can be moved!

  7. Jo Bryant says:

    goodness they are everywhere…I don’t see a lot here in my little rural town. Will have to look out for some when I go to the city

  8. scrapydo says:

    Interesting billboards you have here. I thought there were not many but as soon as you start looking you see more and more.

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I think your last comment pretty much sums up billboard advertising, Colline. We may notice them when they first appear but soon thereafter they become part of background and we rarely notice them. They are everywhere, though.

  10. Billboards are here to stay, Colline. I wouldn’t want one on my wall or next to my house though.

  11. jakesprinter says:

    Amazing Places of Billboard Colline I ;love it my Friend :)

Share what you think

