The Writer

She sat at the desk in front of the computer, fingers tapping on the keyboard and face illuminated by the screen. Her home was free of human sounds: the children asleep as well as her husband. These were her few stolen moments to spend time in her imagination and record what she saw. The wind howled outside, the windows rattled. Unconsciously, she wrapped her dressing gown tighter around her between pauses for thought.

Nadia was known for her gift with words – the written word at least. All through her childhood she was asked to help write speeches for the more extrovert; to correct essays for those who won prizes and scholarships. Never did she stand up and say she was the one who deserved the adulation, the praise, the acknowledgement of a job well done. Now, as a mother and a woman well-loved by her man, she allowed her imagination to run free. She wrote down all that came from her for herself. Brian, her sole reader, encouraged her to send her work to a publisher but she did not. What held her back? Fear. The fear that she may fall short of what is required. The fear that her work would not be praised, feted, and seen as deserving of publication.

The phone laying beside her beeped its alarm. It was time to wake everyone up and begin the routine of getting ready for the day. Closing her document, she bid a small goodbye to her characters until the next day.

5-minute-friday-1When do you find the time to write?

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

(This post was inspired by the Five Minute Friday prompt: Writer)

About Colline

I am an educator, blogger, wife and mother. I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, crafting, photography, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Five Minute Friday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Writer

  1. ladysighs says:

    I don’t think I have a special time. I do know when and if I get an idea that I had better head straight to the computer and jot it down before it is lost. :( My readers have been deprived of all my wonderful stuff because I didn’t make it in time. lol

  2. lcsoup says:

    What a great piece! :-)

  3. Hope says:

    I love the way you write. The detail is awesome.

  4. colonialist says:

    That resonates with me after having just emerged from an obsessional writing phase.
    My peak times are early hours of the morning.

  5. enjoy says:

    I can relate to that short story! good one!

  6. As always, I enjoyed this. Now that Nadia woman, she needs to go for it! ;-)

  7. rommel says:

    Eeeek! Self-defeat, not good. I very much understood but putting your works for others credits, that’s a no-no.

    • Colline says:

      As a person who writes well, I have always been asked to edit people’s work – which at times leads to rewriting. At least as an adult I have been paid for it!

  8. Y. Prior says:

    colline – you are such a great writer. and my favorite part of this one:

    “Now, as a mother and a woman well-loved by her man, she allowed her imagination to run free. She wrote down all that came from her for herself…..”
    but all so good as it felt like I was there – watching this woman start the day with her writing – nice mood created – in such a short piece too – :)

  9. A very heavy writing Colline, for someone whose manuscript is now in the hands of a publisher.
    The fears that the work and effort and countless hours, add up to nothing.
    The writers world is surely a world, where those damned to put pen to paper, are doomed to the eternal world of self doubt.
    Cheers
    Ian

  10. Ruth says:

    I blog every night before bed but don’t allow enough time to really write. Good post, Colline. Making time is tricky and one must plan and DO It.

    • Colline says:

      I find that I have the same problem Ruth. If I can get into the habit of writing – not blogging – every day, most of the battle would be won.

  11. Madhu says:

    Beautifully expressed. The fear of failure keeps most of us from reaching our full potential.

  12. Quiet moments when I am alone, reflecting, daydreaming, listening to music, and spending time alone! Words fall from my inner well easily during those times! Thanks for sharing!

  13. I also have that fear. Great piece, Colline. :)

Share what you think

