Water: The Essence of Life

English: Water drop. Español: Gota de agua.

Water drop. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Water is the essence of life. Without it life would cease to exist: plants would wither and die; animals would fall down in dehydration; and humans would not be able to survive.  Plants, animals and humans need water to get the chemicals they need from their surroundings, to break down food, to move substances within their bodies and organisms, and to reproduce. In addition to giving life to organisms, water also brings beauty into our world. Think of how water can transform a barren, rocky landscape to one filled with life and vegetation.

English: This is my own work, Photo by Gila Br...

Basket of fruits and vegetables. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

More than half of our bodies are made up of water: the water composition of an average adult male being almost 60%. Where do we get this essential fluid for our body? We receive it from the liquids that we drink, and from the water content of the foods that we eat. In order that we remain healthy, we need to ensure that we have enough water in our bodies so that our body temperature can be maintained and that the nutrients we need can be transported to our organs and tissues.

When we lose water (through urination, sweating, and respiration), we need to ensure that we refill the body. In addition, diuretics such as caffeine, alcohol and some medications can cause you to lose water from your body. We know we do not have enough water in our bodies when our urine is a yellow or amber colour, and has a strong odour. Other symptoms of dehydration are: thirst, joint and muscle pain, lower back pain, headaches, and constipation.

Español: Glass of water. Español: Copa con agua.

Glass of water. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What can you do to ensure that the water levels in your body are in balance? The first is to drink liquid. Take note, though, that not all liquids are equal. A can of Coke, for example, will not have the same benefits as a long glass of cool water. The soft drink has sugar added (not helpful if you want to maintain your weight) as well as other additives. The food you eat can also help you to prevent dehydration: watermelon is a perfect example for a hot summer’s day. Fruit like apples too, though, have a high water content. And what about that cucumber, or piece of celery, that you snack on in the afternoon? Eating fresh, raw vegetables will help you to stave the thirsty sign of dehydration. For a list of the water content of fruits and vegetables, have a look at the document that has been prepared by the University of Kentucky. You may find it interesting.

What about the advice to drink 8 glasses of water a day? To be honest, I do not drink 2 litres of water a day – and that includes any tea or juice that I drink. As I eat plenty of fruit and raw vegetables I do not need to fill my body with so much liquid. There are times, though, on hot sweat days when I find myself reaching for a tall glass of water more often; or on days when I eat salty, cooked food. I try to listen to what my body is telling me and give it liquid when it asks. Drinking too much water is just as unhealthy for your body as drinking too little. It places strain on your body by making your kidneys work overtime to get rid of the excess water.

How do you replenish the water level in your body?

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2012

(Join Jake every week for a theme for creative inspiration. This week’s prompt is: Water.)

About Colline Kook-Chun

I am an educator, blogger, wife and mother. I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, crafting, photography, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Health and Fitness, Sunday Post and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Water: The Essence of Life

  1. Leanne Cole says:

    Water, we don’t think about water the way others might, to us, water is about preservation, it is about storing it, not wasting it. We have to do what we can to make sure we don’t go without. Of course, I know your blog is about drinking and hydration, but I really only looked at the start, well the start got me thinking.

    • Colline says:

      I have noticed since coming here that not all people worry about the preservation of water .Having experienced drought, I know what it means to be short of this necessity and it never ceases to amaze me how it is often wasted here through thoughtlessness.

  2. niasunset says:

    It is not easy to drink 8 glass water in a day BUT after my blood pressure (it was high) I started to drink…. Water as you made a nice point, so important. Thank you dear Colline, have a nice day, love, nia

    • Colline says:

      There is no need to though – especially if you eat juicy fruit. Yesterday I came home with a raging thirst (it was very hot) and a bowl of watermelon slaked it – and filled my tummy at the same time :)

  3. The Emu says:

    I must admit I am neglectful in maintaining a healthy level of water
    Your post inspired me to rethink and start to change a few things in this area
    Great post
    Aussie Emu

  4. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I do drink a lot of water in Summer, with our high temps it is a must, it is also very refreshing, I love it when it is just off freezing with a bit of ice floating around in the bottle. :D

  5. cocomino says:

    I always put my glass on my desk of my office. That’s why I often have thirst and want to drink green tea and coffee.

  6. adinparadise says:

    Interesting water post, Colline. Yes, I drink quite a lot of water most days.

    • Colline says:

      Thank you. I know that I prefer a quick glass of water on most days – though I do enjoy my cup of tea after supper while watching a bit of TV :)

  7. jakesprinter says:

    Excellent post for this week theme Colline ,Thanks for sharing your great idea :)

  8. Precious commodity. Good post Colline

  9. TBM says:

    I’m one of those that enjoys water. I have a friend who will never drink water. She has to add powders to it, like Crystal Lite or something. She hates the taste of water. That baffles me.

    • Colline says:

      I am the same as you. My husband is not too keen on water either – he was not raised to drink it. What he does sometimes is add a few drops of lemon juice to his glass. At least this way he is not adding sugars and additives to his drink.

  10. I love two fluids – coffee and water! If someone said I could only have food or coffee for 1 day…I choose coffee over food! But, as you say coffee, due to the caffeine content, is a diuretic. So..I try to drink ice water as well. I have a tall water goblet that I fill with lots of filtered ice and water and drink the coffee and water side by side at my desk here.

    While at my ‘paying’ job, it is often too busy to think straight and they do not have ice or filtered water. I am thinking of bringing in a jug of filtered ice water with me to work because when I am at work, I am constantly thinking of either coffee, which I can get…short walk to Timmy’s, or icy cold water!

    • Colline says:

      I now have the habit of carrying my water bottle with me wherever I go. It is a stainless steel one and it keeps the water nice and cool throughout the day. What a thirst quencher it is after a morning/afternoon of speaking :)

  11. Beautifully said my friend. The words flowed generously with a refreshing sense of inspiration. Like water does, as we drink it cold with lots of ice on a hot Summer day. Water is essential to life, I just wish people will take care more of the natural resources that we take it from. Water is necessary for our survival. Thanks for sharing and the recent visit. I appreciate that a lot.
    http://thismansjourney.net/2012/06/13/weekly-image-of-life-happiness/

    • Colline says:

      As you say, if only we would take care of this natural source before it is too late: not only is it essential to our personal survival but also to the survival of both plants and animals.

  12. restlessjo says:

    I have to confess to imbibing too much of a certain liquid sometimes, and I don’t mean water. I do try to keep things in balance though.

Share what you think

