A Fishy Sign

From time to time my family and I go out to eat at The Mandarin, a child-friendly restaurant that serves a buffet. Many of the dishes served are influenced by Chinese cuisine, as is the decoration. One of the Chinese characteristics found at this place is the fish pond that has been placed at the entrance (this is to ensure good luck and fortune).

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2013
A Feng Shui fishpond. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2013

When looking at the fish pond, one notices the goldfish swimming quite happily in their space.

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2013
A closer look at the fish. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2013

What is amusing, though, is the sign that has been put up warning people not to throw pennies into the water. This may no longer be a problem as pennies are being discontinued!.

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2013
Sign next to a fish pond. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2013

I wonder whether the sign works, or if the workers have to fish for copper coins at the end of their shift.

Do you throw copper coins into fish ponds for luck?

(This post was inspired by Sara Rosso’s prompt over at WordPress.com)

42 thoughts on “A Fishy Sign

  1. Rarely, but if there was a pond that was really special then I would do it. I never thought that it would affect the fish, and now would definitely would be more aware of that situation….

    Like

  2. It’s not only pennies which are a problem, at least not with U.S coins. (Not sure about the Canadian coins.) All U.S. coins contain copper. For example, nickels are 75% copper. That could be why the sign also says ‘hate all coins’. In general, metal doesn’t belong in a fish tank or fountain. I’ve read that aluminum may be ok though.

    Like

  3. Oh I know this rule Colline, but am more upset about the loss of the penny. (here in Canada, I still have my pennies in England) How are we ever going to change the find a penny, pick it up rhyme to nickels, dimes or quarters? 😦 Not quite the same, is it?

    Like

    1. No it isn’t. Last month I was teaching my class how to add coins (the penny being among them) and realised that in a few years the 6 year olds will not even know what a penny is!

      Like

      1. I know! It’s like my old Bakelite rotary phones. When I got the adapters and plugged them into the phone line my 21yr old had no idea what to do!!!

        Like

  4. Just shows how dangerous money is!
    Actually, it is high time all currencies were revalued to bring them back to sensible levels where one could actually buy something for a penny and not have to start in large numbers.

    Like

  5. I’ve never thrown any coins in a fish pond, Colline. For a good part of my life, I’ve had aquariums, fresh and saltwater. I learned at a young age that coins and fish don’t mix. The Trevi Fountain, however, is another story completely! 🙂

    Like

  6. Lovely signs and pond Colline and no, coins are bad for fish, like the sign says. 🙂
    Great post and photo’s hon. Thanks for sharing. *hugs*

    Like

Share what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.