View of Tulips

This week’s photo challenge at The Daily Post at WordPress.Com challenges us to share a photo in which our subject is shown from a different point of view. I do admit that since I have taken part in these weekly photo challenges, I no longer take my pictures facing the subject head-on. Now I think of different perspectives and points of view.

I love the beauty of tulips and, this spring, I tried to capture their beauty with my camera. I knelt down on the ground to take this so that I could see their stems as well.

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2013
A Bed of Red Tulips. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2013

Two full beds had been planted next to one another and I tried to capture how beautiful the rows and rows of tulips looked.

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2013
A Bed of Red Tulips (2). © Colline Kook-Chun, 2013

I noticed that these bright flowers stood out against the greenery that filled the rest of the park.

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2013
Red Tulips in the Park. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2013

I noticed, as well, the park bench that had been placed near the blooms. Often I have seen people sitting on the benches here watching the passers-by and admiring the beauty laid out in front of them.

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2013
A Bench and Red Tulips. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2013

I received a few strange looks from passers-by as I moved around the flower beds with my camera. These looks are something I shall have to get used to as I try to follow the photo challenges set out by WordPress.

Has following photo challenges changed the way you take pictures?

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2013

57 thoughts on “View of Tulips

  1. Great photos Colline, especially the ones where you obviously went for the not-so-common POV.

    To answer your question, yes, participating in the weekly challenge has opened my eyes to new ways of seeing. I have always tried to make images that stand out, and the inspiration I get from all the great entries every week help me a great deal. I feel that if you want snap-shots, walk up and photograph everything at eye level just like everyone else does. If on the other hand you want to make photographs, seeing and photographing your subject in unique ways is key.

    Like

    1. Your photos are so beautiful Jeff and they definitely stand out when I look at them.
      As you say, looking at others’ photos helps one to learn – and to look at subjects in a different way. I can only hope to improve with so many inspiring bloggers in the community.

      Like

      1. I think it would be hard not to. Even though I’m not always conscious of it I’m sure every photo I’ve ever looked at is somewhere in the back of my mind when I’m out making my own. Either to derive inspiration from or to avoid repetition, whether we realize it or not, the influence is there.

        Like

    1. I have had that a few times. I go back a little while later and then I see the photos. I always thought it was my internet playing up. I hope you can get to see them later Carina as the tulips are cheerfully red 🙂

      Like

  2. It always fascinates me how we come out with interesting interpretations of these photo challenges every time. And of course, every challenge is a learning experience for me. I really love tulips red or yellow.

    Like

  3. I love the color of the tulips. I wish I knew the specific type of red it is. I should send the link of this post to my friend. She knows color. 😀

    Like

Share what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.