Grateful for a New Classroom

At the end of the last academic year, I was fortunate enough to get transferred to a school within walking distance of where I live. This is the final year in which the TDSB brings the Full Day Kindergarten programme into their schools – and I was hired to be an additional teacher on staff to fulfill this obligation. My classroom has recently been renovated to suit the kindergarten programme and boasts new cupboards, new furniture and new boards.

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2014
A newly renovated classroom. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

The lack of colour in the classroom suits the new directive from the Early Learning Years department within the TDSB: neutral colours aim at calming the children.

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2014
View of a kindergarten class. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

The boards await the contributions of the children to bring them to life – as do the centres.

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2014
Waiting for class to begin. © Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

As I sit in my chair looking at my classroom, I acknowledge that it is not yet fully equipped. However, the space is waiting for us to make it our own. I am grateful for the the opportunity, not only to work closer to home, but also to begin a classroom from scratch.

Processed with RookieWhat have you been grateful for this week?

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2014

(Join me and share something that you have been grateful for in the past week. Link up with my post and feel free to use the badge my daughter created. )

Thank you for last week’s contributions – there were a record number. I enjoy reading what others are grateful for – the posts make me think of other things I am happy to have in my life. 

The Gratitude Attitude: The Summer’s Bounty

Gratitude Wednesday: Morning Coffee

Grateful to go out on rainy & cloudy days

Grateful for Traffic Backup

Swan Lake

Thank You

Sunday Gratitude

49 thoughts on “Grateful for a New Classroom

  1. Colline, your new classroom is beautiful. How much fun it must be for you to start the school year with a blank classroom. You must be excited about making it your’s and your student’s room from scratch.

    Like

  2. It’s a lovely classroom, Colline. And large. Having been a teacher most of my adult life — and in so many different venues — I can feel the excitement of this new beginning with you. Hope you have a truly fantastic year.

    Like

  3. Best of luck with your new classroom – you’ll be enjoying children at their least self conscious and creative best…hope to see the more colourful version of the room once you and the kids are finished with it!

    Like

  4. Empty for now…. but it speaks with great possibility and room for creativity. 😉

    I am thankful that my big test is done today. I’ve been cramming to study alll week. I’m so glad it’s finallly over!!!

    Like

  5. With 14 boys in your class, I think you will need all the calming you can get. A lovely room, just waiting for you and the children to add their own colourful touches. 🙂

    Like

  6. I am grateful that I have a son who works in the trades as our 15 year boiler died this week and we have had a few days of cold showers! Grateful it is September and not January as well! Tomorrow a new one is going in. Also grateful that my cousin is a mechanic as my car needed repairs this week as well. Kaching!

    Like

  7. Good to know you have been equipped with a great new school room Colline.
    Cant say I agree with the placid calming colours, seems a bit dismal to me, colours are what brightens the emotions in young hearts, colurs are what give excitement and images of adventure to young minds.
    Cheers
    Emu

    Like

  8. I do understand the joy of teaching in a clean, updated room. It’s made my semester a joy so far.

    As for gratitude, I try to post 5 things for which I’m grateful here each Weds. Your post reminded me that I need to do one this week.

    Like

  9. Colline, I had to follow your blog when I say your name. My is Colleen. You have a lovely site here. I adore your Gratitude Sunday! ❤

    Like

  10. Wow!!! Kindergarden…You are a BRAVE woman 😉
    Congratulations on your new class and best of luck!
    I must admit though, I was partial to the half day. It’s my #5’s first year as full day as well. I know she will be fine, she’s not a napper, my #4 would have been horrid though! Poor teachers!

    Again, Good Luck and Enjoy 😉

    Like

  11. The room looks fab Colline, so spacious and calming. Looks like a really nice place to work. 🙂 I wish I could say the same about social services, the cutbacks are unbelievable and staff moral is at an all time low. Still at least I have a job! My entry is via Instagram this week, nature always inspires me to feel grateful, no matter what else is happening. 😀

    Like

    1. It is difficult to remain positive in an environment where cutbacks threaten your job. The best is, as you say, to be thankful that you still have your job and to make the best of things.
      I did see your entry for this week but am struggling to find the link so I can include it in my post. Can you share it please?

      Liked by 1 person

Share what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.