Sandwich Eating

Sandwich
Sandwich (Photo credit: essgee51)

How often do you go into the kitchen and make something quick to eat? Or prepare an easy-to-carry lunch to take to work with you? Or create a variety of sandwiches for a picnic lunch for your family? This is a meal that is portable, easy to make, and can be nutritious. You can fill the bread with anything you think of: meat, chicken, greens, tomato, peppers. The only limit is your imagination.

Ever wonder who invented the sandwich?

John Montagu, 4th Earl of Sandwich, by Johann ...
John Montagu, 4th Earl of Sandwich, by Johann Zoffany (died 1810). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The first sandwich was made very late one night in 1762. John Montagu, the Fourth Earl of Sandwich, did not want to leave the gambling table to go and eat even though he was hungry. He asked a servant to bring him two slices of bread with some roast beef. As he did not want to get his cards greasy, he had the meat placed between the pieces of bread for easy eating. The story goes that others then ordered the same snack so that they too could continue playing.

The Earl of Sandwich may have eaten the first; but since then many variations of the sandwich have been created. We can have a basic one – so easy to make that even a child can do it. I remember coming home from school and making a peanut butter and syrup sandwich. Even more delicious on freshly baked bread! My children now come home and often make their favourite: one spread with Nutella’s chocolate spread. Our favourite for a Saturday lunch at home is crispy French baguette filled with ham, tomato, cheese, lettuce and pickles.

Making cheese and cucumber sandwiches
Making cheese and cucumber sandwiches (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I enjoy eating sandwiches for lunch at restaurants in a garden setting. As always, the presentation is appetising and the fillings are different to what we usually come up with at home. Add the beauty of the surroundings, and you have a delicious meal! Even a simple toasted cheese and ham sandwich can be made more enjoyable in a countryside setting. That and the fact that I did not have to make it 🙂

Often there is not a day that goes by in which I do not eat a sandwich.

What is your favourite sandwich to eat?

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2012

35 thoughts on “Sandwich Eating

  1. My favourite is the veggie sandwich with a lot of cheese, best when grilled 🙂
    Enjoyed the short story about the discovery of sandwich. I love the umpteen variations that can go into making a sandwich. More so, coz its easy and quick.
    You made me feel hungry Colline, sandwiches for the snack today, definitely 🙂

    Like

    1. I am sure you get to make plenty of sandwiches in your home filled with boys. I recall my aunt, who had five sons, buying many loaves of bread everyday.

      Like

    1. I have noticed a great variety of these on offer. Unfortunately my family do not like them too much so we cannot have them when I make lunch for all of us. 😦

      Like

  2. Oh, Colline! I am fond of so many sandwiches. Pulled pork is a good one but I’d never turn down one made with prosciutto & mozzarella. Of course, once the tomatoes start ripening, there’s nothing more satisfying than a bacon, lettuce, and tomato sandwich. And, of course, a grilled cheeseburger is perfect for many summer afternoons. I could go on but I think you’ve got my drift. I love my sandwiches! 🙂

    Like

  3. Love, love sandwiches. For a mid-cycling lunch, we love BLT’s. Now I hardly make sandwiches– we don’t want to eat so much bread- but it was a ritual growing up– making them for everyone (4 of us) and then for my own 3 children. Fun post.

    Like

    1. I have heard of using lettuce instead of bread when making a sandwich. Have not tried it yet – though I know I would miss the taste of crispy bread.

      Like

  4. just about anything goes in a sandwich as long as you’ve got some ripe fresh tomato. I like my sandwiches wrap style; all rolled up in a nice soft tortilla! yummy.

    Like

  5. Hi,
    I love fresh sandwiches, and in Winter toasted sandwiches. Toasted I love fresh chicken and cheese. On fresh bread I love ham and salad or ham, cheese and tomato. 😀

    Like

  6. Every once in a while, I get a craving for a sandwich. I love hummus or falafel sandwiches. It’s funny, I read a few days ago about how the sandwich came to life and I didn’t think it was true. Now you have confirmed it. Gamblers, I guess, have contributed some good to the world

    Like

  7. I’m not a big sandwich eater, it always reminds me of years of bad sanga’s at school. My mother wasn’t very imaginative, so it vegemite for weeks, then jam, then peanut butter. I don’t really remember eating them though.

    Like

    1. I remember the sarmies with mixed fruit jam on them 🙂 My retaliation? I try now to make interesting sandwiches that are both nutritious and friendly to the taste buds.

      Like

  8. Now you have me drooling over that cucumber and cheese sandwich Colline. I am not crazy about bread but will definitely eat it when that’s on it. 😆 My hubby and sons of course believe that bread can be ‘supper’ too and then I can kill them with a smile, especially when I don’t know what to make. 😀

    Like

    1. You are like my husband who does not believe the sandwich can be supper. 🙂 I do remember while growing up, though, eating sandwiches at night when we had had a huge Sunday lunch with extended family members and my mom did not have the energy to cook.

      Like

Share what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.